RSS

Review: Fire and Ice by HoochieMomma

12 Sep

Fire and Ice by HoochieMomma

Summary: “No mutt is going to outrun me. I’m Rosalie fucking Hale.” Rose / Leah femmeslash, Canon. M for mature content.

I love canon slash. It really is the beauty of The Twilight Saga spanning just a couple of years in Bella’s life. When the vampires have existed for hundreds, sometimes thousands, of years there is so much canon time to work with, not to mention the possibility of future fic.

But when an author manages to write a canon slash fic that takes place within the time span of the saga, it’s just that little bit more delicious.

Fire and Ice is one such fic. It’s femmeslash, not my usual bag, but femme + vamp + canon + Leah (who I might have a wee bit of a girl crush on) is totally something I’ll read.

HoochieMomma drags us right into the middle of things without boring us with set up. We get the information we need, and only the information we need to explain the situation.

Me.

In a car.

With Leah Clearwater.

I know, right? It doesn’t compute. Anyway. This is all due to stupid Alice’s stupid visions and stupid Edward’s stupid infatuation with the stupid human (if I have to go over it all again, I swear I’ll pull what I’ve heard Jasper slyly refer to as ‘an Edward’ and book a one-way ticket to Volterra). So, to spare us all, the brief version is that fate has conspired with the cartload of stupid to mean that I am, indeed, stuck in my car with Little Miss Furry Ass over here. I check the mirrors then cast a sideways glare. Annoyingly, right now her ass is looking far from furry. In fact it appears to have been poured into pair of faded denim shorts instead, but still. Hello, shorts? In this weather? Let’s hear it for keeping your wolf problem on the downlow with seasonally-appropriate fashion choices. Anyway, between those and the fact that her top is riding up, exposing a flash of toned midriff, the upshot is she’s totally working the accidental slut look.

The sexual tension between Rose and Leah is brilliant. And I just adore Rose’s snark. Stephenie made me dislike Rose in a way that not even her overshare in Eclipse could save. But HoochieMomma has made me like her again. This is canon Rose, but with likeability.

The sight of her has literally stopped me in my tracks. She’s brought me to a standstill at the edge of the trees while I stare and stare. She’s alive; I can hear her heartbeat. She’s built of a smooth mixture of sinew and curves, like she’s been carved. As she turns into the breeze, a fresh wave of her scent reaches me. Just like it did in the car, I find it unsettling, but now it’s mixing with my scent, it’s not entirely repellent. It’s earthy, reminiscent of the woods and of living things. And, oddly, it smells familiar. Where have I smelt it recently…?

Rose makes almost constant reference to the fact that Leah is alive. Her heartbeat, her warmth, her scent. So in character, because it’s the one thing Rose would give anything for—to be alive.

The sex is where I usually glaze over when I’m reading femmeslash. I don’t when I read Fire and Ice. It’s not endlessly drawn out, it’s concise and very hot. The contrast between temperatures is a significant feature, and one of the things I love about a vampire/wolf pairing.

HoochieMomma’s parting gift is the suggestion of Emmett/Jacob. What I wouldn’t do for a companion fic to Fire and Ice 😉

Fire and Ice was Best Canon in The VampSlash Contest. It’s true, we didn’t have many canon entries, which is a great pity, but HoochieMomma definitely deserved this win. It was one of my favourite entries.

Now, just a reminder about the Halloween Fest we’re running. 100 words minimum, no maximum, more details here. Next week I’ll be launching a new feature on the blog where we get obsessive fans experts to profile their favourite character. It should be no surprise that I’m starting with Alec 😉

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in Contest, Femmeslash, Pack Slash, Reviews, Vamp Slash

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
