RSS

Review: A Light Exists in Spring by shoefreak37

03 Oct

A Light Exists in Spring by shoefreak37

Summary: The Volturi find a new prospect in Forks. “All I know is, I think I’m gay for Edward Cullen, and in two days I’m supposed to die.” Slash Backslash 3.0 entry. Post Breaking Dawn.

Are there pairings rarer than Mike/Edward? Not many, if any (kiwi joke). So when this SBS3.0 entry appeared in my box, I squeed, loud and for real. VampSlash! Mike/Edward! Volturi! All my wildest dreams have come true! And I’m exhibiting a blatant author bias here, but I knew that because it had been written by shoefreak37, it would be right up my personal alley (and doesn’t that just sound filthy, no?)

Anyway. shoe. Mike. Edward. Volturi… vamp is a happy girl.

The story is post-BD, and as far as I’m concerned, entirely permissible as canon. Ahh, I do love a canon slash fic. The curtain rises on Edward as he descends into the depths of the Volturi dungeons, flanked by Felix and Demetri. Mike Newton is being held as their prisoner.

What on earth could the Volturi possibly want with Mike Newton?

The people who took him thought it was odd when Mike asked for a notebook and a pen. Once he got over the shock of being kidnapped, he grew bored. So bored he began to be afraid. Mike feared he would never be free again, feared he would forget who he had been entirely. He begins each page like this:

I am Mike Newton. I sometimes wish I were taller so I could slam dunk a basketball. My hair is blond. My birthday is in _ days. I will live to turn twenty.

In A Light Exists in Spring, shoefreak37 creates an addition to the Twilight mythology that fits seamlessly, and intrigued me right from the first mention. It’s impossible to share further without being a Spoily McSpoilpants, so I won’t, but I will say that the gift shoe gives Mike—and the reason the Volturi want him—is so entirely perfect for his character that I am once again rendered almost speechless by her insight into her characters.

Almost 😉

Now, this is a slash fic of course, and shoe doesn’t disappoint on the action. For 21 days, Edward and Mike are locked in a cell together. Oh my god but isn’t that one of my all time fantasies 😉 With no one else to talk to, these boys get to know each other very well. Mike comes to realise that Edward isn’t as bad as he once thought…in fact, he might actually be quite fond of him.

And Edward…

Edward is amazed by Mike. He wonders why Bella clung to Jacob when he left her, when she could have enjoyed the company Edward is enjoying. Here is Mike, days from death or an eternity of servitude, and he strives to keep Edward entertained. Would she have even missed Edward, had she really gotten to know Mike?

Edward has a couple of unique advantages. He can read Mike’s mind. He has also seen the visions Alice had before he left Forks. He knows what’s going to happen between them. And happen it does. shoe’s sex is lovely, as ever. It did remind me of my all time favourite VampSlash, Tracking Redemption, by the same author. The couples are entirely different, in completely different situations, but the language she uses is wonderful. She makes angry sex beautiful, and then when angry sex becomes tender and sweet it transitions nicely. She’s not gratuitous about sex, either. The story comes first and foremost, which I honestly cannot say for yours truly 😉

My name is Mike Newton. There are only two more days until my twentieth birthday.

For the last six days, I have spent most of my time having sex with Edward. I’m pretty confused about that.

The truth is, I have no idea what to think, can’t even begin to think about what to think. Was I into guys before? I don’t know.

All I know is, I think I’m gay for Edward Cullen, and in two days I’m supposed to die.

Mike draws a picture of a wooden stake going into a cartoon heart.

I might love him a little.

A Light Exists in Spring lived up to everything I have come to expect from one of shoefreak37’s VampSlash fics. It’s a wonderful addition to the unusual Mike/Edward pairing.

ETA: A Light Exists in Spring took out the two top spots in SBS3.0, First Place Judges Choice and Winner of the Public Vote. I wrote this review well before the winners were announced and I had no idea a vampfic and a Mike fic would do so well in this usually AH heavy contest. I’m so pleased, I’m so pleased for shoe, congrats love, you completely and utterly deserve it!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2011 in Reviews, Vamp Slash

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Review: A Light Exists in Spring by shoefreak37

Leave a Reply

 
