RSS

Halloween Fest: To Take Back What is Mine

31 Oct

Author: vampireisthenewblack
Pairing/MC: Carlisle, Edward.
Genre(s): Horror, NM AU.
Wordcount: 500
Prompt/recipient: N/A
Rating: M
Warnings:
Summary: I’ve come to the ancient dungeons beneath Volterra to take back what is mine.
Disclaimer: Not mine.

To Take Back What is Mine

The walls drip with moisture and everything reeks of decay. There’s no one down here but him and me. “Edward?” I call out, hoping he can answer.

I’ve come to the ancient dungeons beneath Volterra to take back what is mine.

This place wasn’t built to hold humans. If the walls are thick enough, and the prisoner is weak enough, a vampire can easily be contained. Edward has been here for months. I thought he was dead, at first. But I can smell him. He’s alive. “Edward?”

I follow the sound of his breathing. Short, sharp inhalations. I get closer, and I can feel him on the other side of the wall.

It’s fifteen feet thick.

“I’ve come to get you, Edward.”

More short, sharp breaths. “Carlisle? Help me.”

“Are you hurt?”

“Help me, Carlisle. Please.” He gasps for air.

I break the lock easily. It takes a little more time to push open the heavy stone slab that serves as a door, and all the while he struggles for breath and begs me to help him.

I’m afraid of what I might find. Some vampires are dismembered, the pieces hung far apart in order to contain them. Left that way for years, even centuries, starving. Never granted the peace of death.

Edward isn’t in pieces. He’s whole. He’s breathtaking. My memory is perfect, yet I can almost believe it flawed because after thinking him dead and gone forever, the mere sight of him, wet and filthy, is so welcome that he is more beautiful than I remember.

He twitches. “Not whole,” he whispers. His eyelids are closed, his face turned away. “Taken apart. Touch me. I see me, but I don’t know if you’re here.”

I move close to where he stands. “I’m here, Edward. You’re safe. Open your eyes.”

Slowly he shakes his head. “Not safe.” He touches one fingertip to his temple. “Not safe in here. Don’t know what’s mine.” He stretches his hand out toward me. “You’re not here. Can’t trust what’s in my mind.”

I take his hand and squeeze it tightly. “I am here. Look at me, Edward.”

Edward laughs and his head rolls on his neck. “Their minds—I hear the depravity in their minds. I see it. All of it. I’m infected by it and I don’t know what’s mine and what’s theirs.” His head turns toward me and he finally opens his eyelids. “They took them,” he says. “I saw Alice and Bella. I watched them die and it was the last thing I saw. Then they took them. I’m not whole. Not beautiful, Carlisle. Not perfect.”

I hold his face in my hands and as I stare into empty sockets a drop of venom falls from each of them. I kiss away the mockery of tears and hold him tightly to me. “You are beautiful, Edward. You’re mine, and I’ve come to take you home.”

Fin

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2011 in Halloween Fest

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Halloween Fest: To Take Back What is Mine

  1. sapphirescribe

    October 31, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Gah! Horrible. But oddly sweet. But horrible.

    Edited to add: I’m guessing ICMezzo on this one. Just something about it…

     
  2. im_not_a_lizard

    October 31, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Creepy and horrible – perfect.

     
  3. Violet (@a_violet_a)

    October 31, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    breathtaking and horrible all at once. So much feeling in so few words. Perfect for Halloween!

     
  4. SydneyTwilightMum

    October 31, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    Just as I imagined the torture would be like…. ❤

     
  5. vampireisthenewblack

    November 1, 2011 at 2:51 am

    Yeah, this is quite horrifying, but I do love a Volterra fic.

     
  6. mugglemom08

    November 1, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Absolutely heartbreaking. Well done.

     
  7. venis

    November 3, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    Oooh…I’m guessing this one is avioleta.

     
  8. icmezzo

    November 5, 2011 at 11:04 am

    I’m guessing…um…hmm…idk, idk… someone who ends their stories w/ Fin?

     
  9. reve2weaver

    November 6, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Oooooo. Ahhhhh. I keep thinking how the lock broke easily…. yet Edward remained there, dwelling on that final scene.
    Edward must have had relived Bella’s last moments over and over as he was bombarded with this fun-house mirror schadenfreude as he read the bloodlust of the Voltura guards while Bella was undoubtedly bled dry, and Edward took in her scent that final time, his mouth flooding with venom, his dead heart breaking. Of course Alice saw her own death coming, and he shared her realization playing over and over just before it happened for added fatal anticipation.
    A true moment of horror and intense cruelty he could not escape, yet the spare words make it that more… desperate. He will not come back from as the Edward Carlisle once knew. There was no need to rip him apart externally… and yet I find Carlisle presence fascinating as the one who will sew him back together like some mad doctor trying to bring him back to life.
    Jeez; my review is almost longer than this compact tale of haunting yet hopeful tale.
    idk..I am thinking a writer who should end with ‘Shark Fin?’

     

Leave a Reply

 
